Finding your 'Signature Style'

Home Forums General Finding your 'Signature Style'

This topic contains 2 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Rob McGregor Rob McGregor 5 months, 3 weeks ago.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of traceyleedawes
    traceyleedawes
    Participant

Hi All –

My name’s Tracey and I’m an artist living near Mackay.

One thing I am struggling with is finding a ‘style’ for myself. I look at my work, and it looks like it could have been done by 3 or 4 different people (well, it does to me, anyway). I LIKE painting in different styles (painterly, abstract realism, realism) and get inspired differently from day to day, but I don’t know if this jumping from one style to another is hurting my potential career in that, my work won’t be recognisable as being mine.

Does anyone else have this drama? Should I just go with the flow, and accept that different styles appeal to different people and therefore will expand my potential customer base, or should I focus on a signature style/subject to make my work instantly recognisable?

Any advice would be appreciated :) Thanks in advance

Profile photo of BeqArt
    BeqArt
    Participant

Hi Tracey,

I recognize your “drama” :-)

Some years ago I was “artist in residence” with a gallery owner, who wanted to launch my watercolors on the European continent. But, he said that I had to find my style first, because my paintings looked too different… He asked me to think about what kind of style I could stand working with for a long time, and stick to that so that people could see it was made by me. I looked at all my pictures and decided about a certain kind of paintings that I had much fun in doing. Unfortunately I was only able to hang my new watercolors in Kitzbuhel, Austria, before the gallery owner suddenly died of a heart attack, the gallery was closed, and I was on my own again.